My first Play! by Sephora (July 2017, bag #049)

I have been trying to sign up for Play! by Sephora for about a year now but they have never shipped to my area. Every month or two I would try to sign up and finally it worked last month!

Sephora opened up their Play! subscriptions to Alaskan and Hawaiian residents (they unfortunately still do not ship to US Territories). I was incredibly surprised to receive my Play! bag in the mail yesterday (July 15th) as I was under the impression they send the bags out on the 3rd week of the month.

20170716_141731The bag itself is thin, cheap, and not something I would reuse for any purpose. The design is nothing special and it has a drawstring. I mean, why even send this kind of bag? I wonder how many people actually use these for anything.

The first item in my July Play! bag is an IT Cosmetics Superhero Elastic Stretch Volumizing Mascara in Super Black (.17 oz). I’m guessing the size as there is no weight information on the packaging but it looks exactly like one I got from ipsy that was .17 oz (decent sample size considering the full-size is .30 oz). I wasn’t as impressed with this mascara over time as I was by it at first; it is prone to flaking, though I did find drastic improvement with using a tinted primer underneath. My next product is a Boscia Charcoal Pore Pudding Intensive Wash Treatment (.84 oz). I blown away at how huge this sample is! You really need to be heavy with some masks so it is really great to get a sample jar with enough for quite a few uses.

20170716_143134The third sample included is the MILK MAKEUP Cooling Water (.1 oz). This is a neat looking little push-up packaging with cooling gel inside to apply under the eyes or over face. I have some of their cheek tint in this same kind of packaging and I adore it, but it seems like a lot of wasted plastic for a fairly small sample amount of product. Packaging is a really big sell for some people though so I can see why they keep that style with their samples as well. On to a bare Minerals GEN NUDE Matte Liquid Lipcolor in Swag (.06 oz). This is another generous sample size, just under half the full-size tube. I just did a big ol’ post about how I’m never going to use any other liquid lipstick except Kat Von D. and Younique but bare minerals is an excellent brand AND this color looks amazing (website describes as a blushing mauve, oooh) so I’m going to have to give this one a try at work tomorrow and see if it can withstand my brutality.

Lastly in my July Play! bag is the Briogeo Rosarco Milk Reparative Leave-In Conditioning Spray (.75 oz). Another generous amount of product! Leave in sprays are my absolute favorite type of hair care products to get in beauty boxes, I am in constant need of it and I love the convenient size. The bonus fragrance sample is an Atelier Cologne Orange Sanguine Cologne Absolue Pure Perfume (1.5 ml).

 

20170716_105226

This product card blows ipsy and Birchbox out of the galaxy.

The product information side of the insert has a superb layout and is bright and eye-catching.

It seems a little larger than necessary but you definitely wont have any problem finding how to use your product on this!

20170716_105206

 

The other side of the insert has tips for using your types of products and a card good for 50 bonus Beauty Insider Points if you make an in-person purchase of any item from a Sephora store.

I’m going to go to my local Sephora and see if I can find anything on clearance just to snag those points.

I have been looking at Play! spoilers and learned that you can find your bag number once it has shipped by looking at the item number on your invoice. My bag is #049 and appears to be one of the more coveted bags this month both to the products and their plentiful sizes, yay! I feel like I really lucked out, of all the spoilers I saw #049 is the bag I would have preferred this month!

My July 2017 Play! by Sephora bag contained the following 6 items: IT Cosmetics Superhero Elastic Stretch Volumizing Mascara in Super Black ($13.64 value), Boscia Charcoal Pore Pudding Intensive Wash Treatment ($11.41 value), MILK MAKEUP Cooling Water ($2 value), bare Minerals GEN NUDE Matte Liquid Lipcolor in Swag (.$8.31 value), Briogeo Rosarco Milk Reparative Leave-In Conditioning Spray ($3.86 value), and an Atelier Cologne Orange Sanguine Cologne Absolue Pure Perfume ($1.46 value) for a total sample value of $40.68.  I am extremely satisfied with my first Play! bag. I will use every one of these items other than the perfume and am especially excited to try the Pudding Mask and the Liquid Lipcolor. I think this bag had an exceptional value and am so pleased that the fragrance is always considered a bonus item in addition to the regular five samples.

Are you a Play! subscriber? If so what bag number did you get?

Find me on Instagram: Epithelial_Dreams & Pandora_LaPush

-All current Reviews or unboxings are done on my current subscriptions and orders, based on need and impulse, and have been paid for by myself. But hey, if you wanna give me stuff to honestly review I’m in to that and anything like that will be disclosed.

 

About Epithelial Dreams

I am 37 years old. I have dry, aging, acne-prone skin with sun damage and pock marks caused from oil burns as a child. I live in a dry, arctic environment with extreme seasonal weather and light (from 5 hours to 20 hours of daylight) and I am often outside standing or walking in windy, below freezing weather.
This entry was posted in Beauty Boxes, Play! by Sephora, samples, sephora, Skincare, unboxing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My first Play! by Sephora (July 2017, bag #049)

  1. Loved seeing what you got! I’ve been loving Bare Minerals lipcolors lately. xx

Leave a Reply

